jump to navigation

there’s always a reason to be thankful November 9, 2013

Posted by lumierre9 in life lessons.
trackback

about half a year ago, just a week before I was supposed to go on a mission trip to Bali that I had been waiting for, I got a very shocking news that I had to be quarantined for 3 months for TB bacteria infection. all plans were cancelled, I couldn’t go to work, and I couldn’t go anywhere for 3 months! even just imagining that was a nightmare for me. a part of me couldn’t accept that fact and couldn’t help questioning “why is this happening to me?? why now??” but another part of me was struggling to stay strong, keep rejoicing and trust God.

even on my first day in the hospital I already felt so bored that I wanted to get out from there immediately. I expected a miracle that the doctor would suddenly come to tell me that I can be released. but it didn’t happen.

I needed three consecutive negative test result to get released, but they only conduct the test twice a month. that meant the earliest I could get out was after 1.5 months. apparently I “failed” the first test so my staying time had to be extended, 2 months at least. I could only pray that the next one will be negative. and God answered my prayer. I got all negative for the second, third, and fourth test so after 2 months finally I could go back home.

it was a very tough time of my life, but thanks to all my friends and families, especially everyone from osaka church, who kept praying for me, supporting me, visiting me in the hospital, bringing me soo many stuffs for me to fill my free time there, I could endure from all the loneliness I felt at that time. with God’s love through them I feel so loved and it strengthened me up.

and with all my free time there, I could have more quality time with God. it made me realize even more that God is always there in every situation. He told me so many times to just trust Him. I still don’t understand why it happened to me but God only wants me to keep trusting Him. He knows what He’s doing and He’ll never leave me no matter what.

looking back to that time, I learned that even when I feel that I’m in my worst condition, there’s always a reason to be thankful. in my case, there’s even not only one but many reasons that I can thank God for. great friends and families, all the love I felt, or all the strength He gave me. I can’t say it’s a pleasant experience but after getting through it I know I came out as a stronger person.

We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they help us develop endurance. And endurance develops strength of character, and character strengthens our confident hope of salvation. And this hope will not lead to disappointment. For we know how dearly God loves us, because he has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with his love. [Romans 5:3-5 NLT]

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

