jump to navigation

If you have faith, anything is possible. Anything at all. September 28, 2011

Posted by lumierre9 in inspiration, movies.
Tags: ,
trackback

first time I heard about Bethany Hamilton was when I read Nick Vujicic’s book. she is a surfer that lost one of her arm caused by a shark attack, but she didn’t lose hope and continue surfing. she wrote a book called “Soul Surfer” about her struggle after she lost her arm and how she overcome it. i haven’t read the book (but planning to buy it soon) but a while ago i watched the movie that was released earlier this year with the same title as the book. as a movie maybe it’s not as good as other movies, but her life story is really inspiring. (i wonder if they would ever make a move about Nick as well)

“For I know the plans that I have for you,” says the Lord. “Plans to prosper you and not to harm you. Plans to give you hope and a future. ” -Jeremiah 29:11-

after the accident, Bethany recalled this verse and started questioning God. she asked her church youth leader, “Sarah, how can this be God’s plan for me?” and Sarah just said “I don’t understand. I don’t know why terrible things happen to us sometimes. But I have to believe that something good is going to come out of this.”

she couldn’t accept it at first but after a while she tried to get back in the water. however her poor performance on a competition discouraged her and she decided to quit surfing. after going to a mission trip to help tsunami victims in thailand she got her motivation back to surf again.

a reporter asked Bethany a question after she almost won a regional championship, “I just wanted to ask you if you could go back to that day and not have gone surfing, would you do it?” and this is her answer:

I wouldn’t change what happened to me, because then I wouldn’t have this chance in front of all of you. This chance to embrace more people than I ever could have with two arms. I was born to surf. This is why I wake up
at the crack of dawn every day. This is why I endure belly rashes, reef cuts, muscles so tired they feel like noodles. And I’ve learned that life is a lot like surfing. When you get caught in the impact zone, you need to get right back up because you never know what’s over the next wave.
And if you have faith, anything is possible.
Anything at all.

somehow it’s related to the sermon at church last sunday by ps.Brenden Brown from Hillsong Church Australia about being strong and courageous. when Joshua was in a tough situation and God appointed him to become a leader, God told him to be strong and courageous up to four times. He wants to make us sure that He is with us no matter what the condition is. He has a great plan for us and by being strong and courageous people can see God who lives in us.

Comments»

1. savio vaz - October 10, 2011

Truly inspiring

2. jennyiguis - November 28, 2011

I’m finally able to watch the Soul Surfer yesterday. and its really a good movie! I really admire her, because even in the midst of “i don’t understand” still she have faith!


Leave a Reply

