jump to navigation

a small hug could mean a lot October 26, 2008

Posted by lumierre9 in inspiration.
Tags: , ,
trackback

i was watching TV this afternoon and I saw a local TV-show about traveling to South Korea…a scene caught my attention…it’s a woman standing on the street carrying a “FREE HUGS” sign and she hugs everyone who needs a hug…

i was wondering, what motivates her to do such a thing…i was just reminded of this generation…this world lacks of LOVE, and it’s what they need most…and hug is a way to show our love to others…i found this AIDS campaign that says “I have AIDS, please hug me, I can’t make you sick”…it gives the message how people, especially those who don’t have normal life like others, need love so badly…

a lot of people may rarely or even never feel being loved, hugged, and with these acts of free hugs, it could make them feel better…

i also found this article, about the power of hug…

“To survive, we need 4 hugs a day. For health, we need 8 hugs a day. For growth, ever young, happiness, we need 12 hugs a day” -Virginia Satir, family therapist.

Maybe you’re wondering, do HUGS really have a great power, that can make someone healthy, happy, and ever young? When did the last time you hug someone or someone hug you? If the answer is rarely or even never at all, try to remember, what did you feel recently? It could be that you get sick, depressed, stressed, having head-aches, or some emotional problems. Many researches show that hug therapy can heal physical dan psychological illness. It can overcome stress, depression, etc. Hugged people, or hugging people, feel some power of love surrounding them. This power makes our immunity increases.


taken and translated from here

and here’s about the Free Hugs Campaign

Sometimes, a hug is all what we need.

Free hugs is a real life controversial story of Juan Mann, A man whos sole mission was to reach out and hug a stranger to brighten up their lives.

In this age of social disconnectivity and lack of human contact, the effects of the Free Hugs campaign became phenomenal.

As this symbol of human hope spread across the city, police and officials ordered the Free Hugs campaign BANNED. What we then witness is the true spirit of humanity come together in what can only be described as awe inspiring.

How it all started:

I’d been living in London when my world turned upside down and I’d had to come home. By the time my plane landed back in Sydney, all I had left was a carry on bag full of clothes and a world of troubles. No one to welcome me back, no place to call home. I was a tourist in my hometown.

Standing there in the arrivals terminal, watching other passengers meeting their waiting friends and family, with open arms and smiling faces, hugging and laughing together, I wanted someone out there to be waiting for me. To be happy to see me. To smile at me. To hug me.

So I got some cardboard and a marker and made a sign. I found the busiest pedestrian intersection in the city and held that sign aloft, with the words “Free Hugs” on both sides.

And for 15 minutes, people just stared right through me. The first person who stopped, tapped me on the shoulder and told me how her dog had just died that morning. How that morning had been the one year anniversary of her only daughter dying in a car accident. How what she needed now, when she felt most alone in the world, was a hug. I got down on one knee, we put our arms around each other and when we parted, she was smiling.

Everyone has problems and for sure mine haven’t compared. But to see someone who was once frowning, smile even for a moment, is worth it every time.

wow…it really inspires me…the world is in a great need of love, and we have to answer this need…it came into my mind about doing the campaign here in Indonesia, but with this culture and many ‘weird’ rules this country has, i’m not sure if it’s really okay to be done here…well, the least i can do right now is sharing the love i have to all people around me, hugging them whenever i’m able to…

for someone…a big hug for you…may this hug can heal the wound between us…
XOXO

Comments»

1. krisnanda - October 27, 2008

hug me!!!!i need hug!!! akakkaa

2. Alver - November 3, 2008

wew..
poster yang tulisannya “I have AIDS, please hug me” itu bikin gw pengen nangis… tanggung jawab lo, Ko… loh??
wakakaka…

You know I love to hug people and I have the heart for the people like them.. Merinding rasanya…


Leave a Reply

