jump to navigation

respect the authorities April 17, 2008

Posted by lumierre9 in share the truth, values of life.
trackback

Last week there was some hot issue about Indonesian government (Communication and Informatics Department) blocking websites because they have a video which is said to offense the Moslems. The video was created by a Dutch and raised acts of protest in many places in Indonesia, asking the creator to be punished (killed), burning Nederland’s flag, and demonstration to the Nederland’s embassy. Then the government decided to make regulations about internet publications.

Their first act was blocking websites that contain the video. They are youtube, multiply, myspace, metacafe, and rapidshare. Now it’s the netters’ turn to raise protests. It’s really not wise to stop the publication of the video by blocking those sites. Well, as for myself, I can still access those websites with some web proxy, but I disagree with the act. It’s like killing a rat in a house by burning down the house. Those websites isn’t guilty. We can get many useful, educating contents there (although indeed I admit also a lot unnecessary or even bad contents).

What I want to say here is about respecting the authorities. I concern about the reactions the netters gave. They were starting to mock, insult, curse on the government. Although I also don’t like the way the government act, I only remembered that God wants me to respect my authorities. In Romans 13:1-2 says “LET EVERY person be loyally subject to the governing (civil) authorities. For there is no authority except from God [by His permission, His sanction], and those that exist do so by God’s appointment.(1) Therefore he who resists and sets himself up against the authorities resists what God has appointed and arranged [in divine order]. And those who resist will bring down judgment upon themselves [receiving the penalty due them].” (Amplified Bible). A person I know ever said this “when you don’t agree with authorities above you, you can be critical, but in the end you still have to obey them”. These control me from doing the same as the netters. I raised the objection through some petition I got, but I control my emotion. I still have to respect them. Even if they are wrong, I believe only God can change them because still they are from God.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

